blogtastic blogtoberfest 2012

What an awesome idea.  And great for a novice like me.  At the moment I’m still a bit of a fraidy cat to just throw a post up.  I’ve got stuff to say but I’m a bit cautious. So Blogtoberfest 2012 is a great way to force me to push my boundaries.  So I’m doin it! A post a day for the month of October 2012. GASP!

I would like to start by revisiting my motives for beginning this blog.

All I wanted to do was have a place to share my new mum fears, angst, worry, anxiety, discoveries , joys and lightbulb moments.  Because I have a research, science and anatomy background, I thought I might be able to use those skills to wade through the enormous amount of crap that new mums are bombarded with as they go through new motherhood. To me it was like I was carrying a ten-tonne truck on my back along with my new-born in my Baby Bjorn.

So, along the way I wanted to share my experience so that if there were any other un-perfect mums out there struggling that they would feel less of a failure (it was hard for me to type the F word, I hate it – it’s loaded with such negativity and it’s very rarely true that mums fail – but that’s how I felt and still sometimes feel), and less alone. Sometimes when you’re in the midst of a struggle and you’ve lost your voice it can be just knowing that you are not alone in your struggle that makes the difference. That is why the blogging community appealed to me.

I’m still working up the courage on occasion to be perfectly frank, but I’m getting there. To be honest, I’m still in the midst of my struggle – but I know that the struggle is worthy.

And the 100’s & 1000’s of life posts in between are just a bit of fun to keep me sane-ish.

There, that wasn’t so hard.

So, HELLO! to anyone that comes to my blog from Blogtoberfest, I look forward to hearing from you! This is me . . .

2 responses to “blogtastic blogtoberfest 2012

Got any thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

