low maintenance friends

I’m getting ready for a visit from a great pal. She’s great because she knows I’m a bit, shall we say, eccentric. And she doesn’t care. But she also knows I trust hard, I try hard and I am loyal hard.

Do you know what makes her the coolest pal to hang out with? She’s easy going. It’s as simple as that.

I’ve got dirty laundry strewn from one end of the house to the other. I have dangerous levels of dog poo in the yard. I have groceries from last week sitting on the floor I haven’t unpacked yet. And I have still only taken down half my Christmas decorations. But I know she will not care one iota. She’s coming to spend time with me.

She won’t care that I bought a bunch of stuff that don’t go together from the grocery store and threw them on a Christmas platter I am yet to put away.

ready one ready two

She won’t say to her kids on the way home “my GOD did you see the dust on the fans!” or “oh my, I could NOT live in that house”. I know she will be saying “wasn’t that a fun visit” and “isn’t the farm pretty” and “did you notice the old dairy, you know that’s probably older than me” and I can hear her telling her kids a story about how they used to milk cows, no robots involved and how they used to drink it straight from the bucket.

These are the friends to hold onto. It’s more than just them focussing on the positive. It’s more than just that they don’t sweat the small stuff. It’s more than just that they listen and want to hear about your life. It’s more than them offering their experience as advice or pondering out loud with a voice of the flip side, rather than telling you what to do.

It’s judgement free friendship.

That’s the friend I want to be. That’s the friend I will endeavour to be this year.

2 responses to “low maintenance friends

Got any thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

