when the rains came some more

A couple of days without power and internet thanks to cyclone Oswald. Sounds easy doesn’t it. Well it turns out I’m a power and internet addict. I spent the first few hours cowering in a corner rocking back and forth chewing on my fingernails. Nah, it was not that bad. But I did feel a certain amount of nervousness without internet. Especially since emergency services now rely so heavily on social media. In the end, the techno break did us the world of good and it got me to thinking – how much value does the internet add to my life and do I rely too much on power? I waste a lot of time and money on both. Maybe I should cut back – just use the internet for shopping and the blog. A discussion for another day perhaps.

Anyway, we had to go back to basics, live like they did in the good old days. We couldn’t do much but stand back and watch.

1 the rains start Another dam had formed on the place.2 the shortbread We huddled inside, thinking the showers would only last a day and then pass.3 delicious shortbread So I made some shortbread.waters risingAnd we walked in the rain – one of life’s greatest pleasures – to inspect the damage so far.

A tree split in half (L). Rapids where there were previously trickles (top R). And the herd just waiting it out (bottom R).12 coping 13 coping just fine White One coped as best he could.14 also coping 15 also coping just fine Puppy also coped juuuuuust fine, indoors huddled on a blanket.

Then BANG we had no power and, sniff sniff, no internet.16 the trusty radio So, we pulled out the battery radio.

Bless all 10cm of her. She was my link to the world for a couple of days

19 boredom magnified

Occupied ourselves as best we could – for instance I made a lollipop centrepiece. Beautiful isn’t it. I’m so creative.

4 who goes thereAnd we had some fun with foot prints.

20 tree down on house

We lost a tree and it almost landed on our roof. No major damage luckily.17 snags Rustled up some snags and beans like we used to when we were camping.

And watched the squally rain come down in buckets from the deck until the sun went down. Completely unawares of what lay ahead for the remainder of Australia. 21 awaiting news

We watched the waters rise slowly. Hoping it wouldn’t reach us. And watching it cut off the roads. All you can do is wait. That’s the hard part.wet wet wetWe used up all the candles in the house. And I admired the storm outside beyond the glow of the flame.22 candlelight one 22 fire - what fire The other feline was completely oblivious too.

‘A fire you say? What fire? Behind me you say?’23 candlelight two I learned a little bit about silence. How it contributes to my peace of mind.

I didn’t sleep that night. But hoped like never before that the waters wouldn’t reach us in the dark.24 a calm sunrise The morning brought bright sunshine and a clear sky. And I felt an enormous sense of relief to see the waters had only cut the roads but not reached our house.27 the moon lingers Strangely the moon lingered for quite a while in a clear sky along with the sun. Almost as a reminder of what had been and gone and how lucky we were.  28 moonshine I think I’ll remember this storm for a while yet whenever I look at a morning moon.

29 impressive beadwork We were also greeted with this wonderful display from our orb spider. Seems he didn’t mind the storm too much.30 beads 31 beading Such amazing droplets.32 culprit Aha! The culprit.33 debris And when the waters had gone down, we were left with a bunch of debris and logs. Some of it will stick around for a while and become part of the river bank shape and ecosystem, others will go down stream in the next bit of rain.

It got me to thinking though, I wonder if we could learn something from nature. See our minds like a river – constantly moving, evolving and adapting to cope with what is thrown at it – sometimes dry, sometimes bulging rapids, sometimes placid and gentle.

See difficult times as storms that we can weather but which are part of natures way to clear out the old muddy water. Let the storms mould us and build on our character and define our values, but don’t let the debris obstruct us or our day to day. Teach our minds to work around it. Help our mind flow around and past the debris.

I know there is debris in my mind that sticks around from past, shall we say, cyclones that really only hurt when I focus on it or get stuck on it but it has moulded who I am today. It’s not so difficult when I just accept it as part of my story and work around it.

Our ‘storms’ can just be a way of clearing away the ‘debris’ and ‘dirty water’, leaving us a slightly different, usually better, person.

Perhaps if we knew that about our storms sent to challenge us they wouldn’t be as daunting, nor as violent when we are in the middle of them. We could accept them free of judgement and fear with a new amount of knowing and calm. Just a thought.34 laundrey waiting for meAnd, lucky you, here’s a picture of all the laundry awaiting me – thanks cyclone Oswald.

I’m thinking of everyone in Bundaberg, Rockhampton, Gympie and Grafton – some of the hardest hit areas.

Great to be back!

Got any thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

