52 weeks of grateful ~ big things little things

10 hand holdingDo you ever have one of those moments, days, weeks when you really struggle to find something in your life to be grateful for? I do.

There’s the big ones along the lines of my ever glorious son, family, not living in Syria at the moment, having employment, an education, food, clean drinking water, a roof. But they sort of go without saying don’t they.

Or do they. Perhaps it’s these things which seem to go unsaid that make it difficult for me to find other gratefuls within my, shall we say, personal space.

Maybe this is one path to feeling grateful and to living mindfully. Contemplating the ‘givens’ every now and then.

So this week, I am truly grateful I don’t live in a war zone. I am grateful for the roof over my head. The food in my fridge. The water from my tap. The teachings in my mind. And the fortunate circumstances in which I find myself.

Along with that, in my own little world, I am grateful for hand holding, which reminds me that someone in this vast world doesn’t want to let me go.

So it seems sometimes it takes contemplating the big bad world to find that what you’re looking for is right in front of you.

I’m linking up with Maxabella Loves for 52 weeks of grateful.

4 responses to “52 weeks of grateful ~ big things little things

  1. I think it’s often difficult to think of grateful and that is why it’s so beneficial to do it regularly, to look at the glass half full rather than empty. All good things to be grateful for.

    • I think you’re right Mandy. If we make it a habit then it’s a way of life in the face of any challenges. Easier said than done, but I’m working on it 🙂

Got any thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

