More love, be kind, be a friend

  Today I was cuddling my newborn close on my chest and under my chin while sitting in the park watching my toddler play. I was scared. Scared to take out my enormous breasts to feed him. Scared that he would soon scream bloody murder and I’d look like incompetent mother, scared that he might soon become a difficult baby like my first one was, scared that I might not be able to cope with two eventually (even though I currently am coping), scared that I’m making mistakes. You name it I was worried about it.

I was watching all these other mothers with their shit together, hanging out with their ‘shit together’ friends and their kids, dreading going back to my rats nest house but equally uncomfortable in my own worried presence. 

And then this mum, a bit older than me, with two kids walked past me but stopped to say “can I just say how adorable that looks with you holding him like that”. And well slap me happy, that just made my day, I felt ten feet tall and like I could conquer the world.

Mums are so hard on ourselves anyway, why not stop to add a little sunshine to a mothers life, even if they are a stranger. It takes nothing away from you but it could make the world of difference to them.

Got any thoughts? I'd love to hear them.

